Just a few Hundred People Deep Epic Snowball Fight after XXX Hypnotist

As I mentioned briefly in my previous post, snow  is a huge deal here. Everybody freaks out when it happens. Mainly because they rarely get it and don’t have the proper equipment to deal with it. Its been all over the BBC and the newspapers, and supposedly this snowstorm is the worst in upwards of 20 years in places. I’ve heard like 20 inches at worst in some places, weak.

As it was starting to snow on Monday night, I went to a hypnotist  show at Woody’s Pub right in our student village. The guy had come all the way from Canada. His name was Tony Lee XXX, and his name fit his show. I have seen a few hypnotists in Iowa City at comedy shows, but never one who was as dirty and sexual as this guy. Overall it was very funny and one of the better shows comedy shows I’ve seen live.

Sparing most the details, I’ll give a kwick rundown of things he made the people who were under do during the show: fake masterbate, put hands down their pants, act out how they give oral sex, orgasm into the mic, lic whip cream off a person pulled out of the audience, pull a boyfriend out of the audience of a girl on stage and have them reverse roles and have her do what ever she wanted to him (with a bottle too), make guys on stage think they were girls and do a strip tease to a random person in the audience down to their underwear, have all the girls kick a guy in the nuts pulled out of the crowd, among many other things I can’t remember right now.  Yes, it may sound very dirty, but it was very hilarious and there was never any actual nudity. It was a good time.

As the couple hundred of us in attendance at this show left the pub,  we entered a winter wonder land. There was probably about 4 inches of snow. Monday night is a big night to go out  to the clubs in Swansea, but I’m guessing the clubs weren’t as busy as most Mondays this week, because most people instead decided to inter into the village snowball fight.

Preparing to Battle the Brits

Preparing to Battle the Brits

I’m not lying when I say there was at least 300 people in the streets of our student village throwing snowballs at anybody and everybody. I’m pretty sure I made and threw more snowballs that night then I had in the last 10 years of my life. I was hesitant about the idea of doing it at first, thinking it was totally lame, but it turned out to be a blast. I definitely had experience on my side, and almost felt bad for hitting a few people in the face with some snipes, but I got hit plenty too so I call it even.

People were also trying to sled, but no one really owns actual sleds here. I had the brillant idea of using a small rectangle kitchen table! It didn’t work the greatest, but it sufficed and got many laughs. I also tested out a British kids skim board which worked much better. The streets ended up being crowded with people until about 2 in the morning, at which time I called it a night.

My "sled"

My "sled"

The next morning, I woke up at 9 to find school had been cancelled,  snow day in the UK, so I went back to bed. But I got woke up so many times by my flatmates knocking on the door saying “come on Kyle! There is snow everywhere! Come out and play and F shit up!” I told them I had seen plenty of snow in my day and went back to sleep. But I kept getting woke up by the sound of people screaming, and screaming, and screaming outside from another massive snowball fight. So I joined in for a little bit. 

On this day, all of the school buildings were closed, bus routes shut down (Iowa buses could drive backwards through this weak shit), and convience store on campus closed. But of course, the one thing that did stay open was Woody’s Pub for all these British drunks.

I’ll upload some pics soon.

Leave a Reply

